Tournament Info

DATE: July 18-24, 2016
SITE: Taube Family Tennis Stadium, Stanford University, Stanford, CA 94305 (Campus Drive & Sam McDonald Road).
HISTORY: The Bank of the West Classic is the longest-running women-only professional tennis tournament in the world and is the first stop of the Emirates Airlines US Open Series. Owned and operated by IMG, the WTA Premier event features a 28-player singles draw and a 16-team doubles draw with total prize money of $731,000. Held on Stanford University’s campus at Taube Family Tennis Stadium since 1997, former champions include: Billie Jean King, Chris Evert, Martina Navratilova, Andrea Jaeger, Monica Seles, Martina Hingis, Lindsay Davenport, Serena Williams, Venus Williams and Kim Clijsters.
TITLE SPONSOR: Founded in 1874, $62.4 billion-asset Bank of the West (, member FDIC and equal housing lender, offers a wide range of personal, commercial, wealth management and international banking services. The bank operates more than 700 retail and commercial banking locations in 19 Western and Midwestern states. Bank of the West is a subsidiary of BNP Paribas, which has a presence in 80 countries with nearly 200,000 employees.
FORMAT: A 28-player singles main draw and a 16-team doubles main draw are held, all featuring best two-out-of-three set matches. A 32-player singles qualifying draw will be held for four main-draw entries, and a four-team doubles qualifying draw will be held for one main-draw entry.
2015 DEFENDING CHAMPIONS: Singles: Angelique Kerber d. Karolina Pliskova, 6-3, 5-7, 6-4; Doubles: Xu Yi-Fan/Zheng Saisai d. Anabel Medina Garrigues/Arantxa Parra Santonja, 6-1, 6-3.
PRIZE MONEY: $731,000
TELEVISION: The quarterfinals, semifinals and final will be broadcasted on ESPN2. Click here to go to the TELEVISION SCHEDULE.